Archer is governed by an elected five member Commission. These commissioners constitute the legislative body of the city and as a group are responsible for taxation, appropriations, ordinances, and other general functions. Individual commissioners are assigned responsibility for a specific aspect of municipal affairs, such as personnel, sewer, and recreation committee chairs. One commission member is designated to serve as Mayor for a one year term. As such, this body serves as both the legislative and executive branches of city government.